Friday I got off of work super excited about my group ride in the morning. So I go off to the bike shop to pick up a few essentials that I had not been riding with. ( I strongly suggest when you start riding you have these things first off if you can!) So I picked myself up the following:

  • Some Giro women gloves (just in case of that fall that could occur)
  • A water bottle cage & a new water bottle with the bike shop’s logo
  • A spare inter tube
  • A co2 cartridge and co2 chuck
  • A stand up bike pump for the house
  • Forte Road Clip In Pedals & shoes
  • oh and of course some Gu Energy Gel
PART_1372693519749

Porter

I did not have my bike with me when I made these purchases so I decided that I would put the pedals on my bike myself. I need to learn how to do a little more maintenance than just clean and oil my bike. Well I got home to a red light ticket (they have camera’s here where I live, and if you don’t come to a absolute, complete, zero moving, stop they send you a pretty picture of your car in the mail with a $50.00 ticket)

 

 

PART_1372693496772

the old toe cage

I went to the garage with my best mate to work on my bicycle. I got the wrench out and started to work on left pedal, it’s threaded opposite (the shop informed me of this) and so I began to work on it, and quickly realized I was not getting anywhere.Β  My best mate could tell my frustration so of course he wanted to help, this didn’t go over well. I was nearly in tears at it was 9:30 pm and I should be getting ready for bed so I could get up for my group ride the next morning. I decided that I did not want to mess anything up so that I would just have to ride in my toe cage pedals for one more ride. I ended up going to bed super late due to another cyclist friend offering to assist me in my struggles but realizing he didn’t have the correct tool for my type of pedal.

I awoke Saturday morning to the rain, and to the clock reading 9am, I had missed my ride. I packed my new pedals up, put my bike on the rack and took it back to the shop for them to install. Boy oh boy, I love the bike shop- they make everything look super easy. They did a lifetime adjustment and got everything good, including the tire pressure. I was so excited now that I could finally try out the new clip in pedals. I got on my bike and road in the rain for 6 miles, and didn’t have one fall. πŸ™‚ The only problem with that ride was, the bike got really messy. I cleaned my bike up, and oiled the chain too πŸ™‚

Sunday I went on a group ride with my bike shop, it is much different than the usual Saturday group ride that I do with Conte’s. It was nice out for most of the ride. We did a little over 14 miles in an hour. I did hit a new top speed 28.6mph! πŸ˜€Β  That afternoon my roommate asks me if I wanted to go on a bike ride before it got dark, um of COURSE! I was so excited that we went on a ride together. She road my mountain bike and we did about 4.2 miles nice and slow. She’s just starting off, but I was so happy to have some company and get out again! πŸ™‚ We went up to the local park and I got her to snap a picture of me by the water (picture below) πŸ™‚ Overall it was a pretty good weekend for my bike and me.

Side note, have any of you named your trusty bike? I am thinking about it! πŸ™‚ I will take any awesome name suggestions.

1372649120038

Me and my bike! πŸ˜€

This morning I got a mile swim in, for the first time ever! It only took me 58 minutes too! I’ve got to start somewhere ;o)Β  Then I went for a 2 mile run in the rain before coming to work. πŸ™‚ Overall it’s going good.

I will be reviewing Skullcandy Chops Earbuds on a coming post. Stay tuned.

